skip to main content

News Room

Media inquiries may be directed to:
Communications: 780-410-6595

Emergency Services: For interview requests, please email and provide reporter contact
information and timelines.

Strathcona County photos on Flickr

Media releases prior to June 2013 can be found on the media release archive page.

Archive: December

Strathcona County earns second national award for annual financial reporting

December 22, 2016

For the second consecutive year, Strathcona County has earned a Canadian Award for Financial Reporting Achievement for its 2015 annual financial report.

Cause “undetermined” for structure fire in Sherwood Park

December 21, 2016

Strathcona County fire investigators have ruled the cause of the structure fire on December 17 at 14 Sioux Road, Sherwood Park as undetermined and not suspicious.

Ring in 2017 with a magical evening of wizardry fun!

December 15, 2016

Residents are invited to experience a free evening of magical fun at this year’s New Year’s Eve festival on Saturday, December 31 from 4 p.m. to 8 p.m.

Proposed propane processing facilities one step closer to reality

December 5, 2016

Two regional companies were today announced as the first recipients of a provincial petrochemical diversification funding program. The $500 million awarded through royalty credits will support two planned processing facilities in Alberta’s Industrial Heartland.

2016 Public Survey

December 5, 2016

Citizens are invited to complete an online survey to provide feedback on living in Strathcona County and some of the County’s services.

County ready to take action on urban agriculture

December 2, 2016

Strathcona County Council has approved the urban agriculture strategy. The County will begin in 2017 to implement strategy areas, starting with community gardens, urban livestock and school agriculture.

Residents asked to stay safe: keep off the ice

December 1, 2016

As a result of the colder temperatures, a layer of ice has formed on stormwater ponds and natural bodies of water in Strathcona County.