The Alberta Municipal Government Act is the provincial legislation that empowers municipalities to govern the development of lands within their boundaries in a manner that is logical, timely, economical and environmentally responsible. 

Statutory plans, policies, the municipal development plan, the land use bylaw and area concept/structure plans are some of the documents used in the planning and development process.

Municipal Development Plan - long term policy document which provides guidelines for orderly growth and development over the next 20 years

Area Concept Plans - a comprehensive planning framework and generalized future land use concept that guides subsequent development plans

Area Structure Plans- statutory plans that outline development of a small part of a community or neighbourhood

Conceptual Scheme - a non statutory framework that outlines future development and subdivision concepts within rural areas of the County

Land Use Bylaw - regulates use and development of land 

Rural Subdivision Addressing Plans - maps of existing subdivisions

School zone designation and development - Includes a map of future school zones.

Civic Addressing Bylaw- outlines the requirements for displaying addresses

Intermunicipal collaboration

The Strathcona County and City of Edmonton Joint Planning Study: Boundary Interface Protocols and Strategies (JPS) is a document intended to facilitate collaboration and guide the development of strategies and tools to address emerging topics between the two municipalities.

More information:  

Last updated: Friday, April 14, 2023
Page ID: 37555