Transit information for students

Riding with transit during COVID-19

Transit takes your safety seriously. Throughout the pandemic, Transit has been working hard to keep our buses and terminals clean and sanitized, ensuring the highest standards of cleanliness are maintained. Everyone has a part to play in keeping each other safe, to that end, masks are required on all transit buses and in all County facilities, including our Transit terminals. Please wear your mask! To find out everything transit is doing during this COVID-19 pandemic, visit Riding with us

Last Modified: July 13, 2021, 8:50 a.m.

Strathcona County Transit provides transportation to students attending schools within Sherwood Park or in Edmonton.

U-Pass Program Update

Regional municipalities continue to work with the participating U-Pass Student's Associations throughout the pandemic. Due to the majority of classes being offered online at this time, all parties agreed that U-Passes will not be issued.

COVID-19 has presented unique financial challenges for everyone, and the suspension of the U-Pass program is a temporary adjustment. Students residing in Strathcona County can take advantage of a number of alternative discounted fare options, including: 

  • Monthly Youth Commuter pass for $81.40 per month

  • Youth Commuter Ticket Book (package of 10) for $34.90

  • Subsidized Everybody Rides Program (must qualify through Family and Community service)


University students

University students can travel from Bethel Transit Terminal and Ordze Transit Centre to:

  • University of Alberta: Routes 404 and 414
  • NAIT: Route 413
  • MacEwan City Centre: Routes 401, 411, and 413

We encourage all transit passengers to take local transit instead of utilizing the park and ride lots. Local transit is included with your U-Pass. Parking is at a premium and taking your local route generally adds no more than 15 minutes to your trip during peak travel times.

Visit the Schedules and routes page for trip times and route maps.

For other schools, students should use a combination of Strathcona County Transit and Edmonton Transit.

To plan your trip call 780-464-RIDE (7433) or use Google Maps.

Use Google Maps to plan your trip

  1. Go to Google Maps
  2. Select the "Directions" bent arrow at the top of the screen
  3. Select the transit icon from the top of the menu
  4. Enter your starting point and destination

U-Pass program

U-Pass holders have access to unlimited travel on Strathcona County Transit, St. Albert Transit, Edmonton Transit, Fort Saskatchewan Transit, Spruce Grove Transit and Leduc Transit. Qualifying post-secondary students can pick up a U-Pass through their institution.

Participating institutions include:


  • Valid at all times during fall (September to December), winter (January to April) and spring/summer* (May to August) terms. 
  • U-Pass holders do not need to purchase regular transit passes.

*Not all institutions/programs participate in the spring/summer session. Please confirm with your institution regarding their participation.

What if I do not qualify for a U-Pass?

You can purchase a youth/student commuter pass available at all Strathcona County Transit vendors. Passes are valid for youth 17-years-old and younger or for those with a valid student ID.

Where to purchase a pass

Local high school students

Strathcona County Transit provides bus service to Archbishop Jordan Catholic High School (ABJ). All other high school students are provided with bussing service options through their school boards. ABJ students can take the following routes:

For students traveling to other schools within Sherwood park, please visit bus schedules and routes for complete local route information.

Lost passes
Archbishop Jordan (ABJ) students who are part of the school-supplied pass program who have lost their pass no longer receive free replacement passes. Contact the school board for assistance during regular business hours. They are located at:

Elk Island Catholic Schools
310 Broadview Rd
Sherwood Park, AB 

Important reminders for students:

  • Plan to be at your stop a minimum of five minutes before the bus is scheduled to arrive.
  • Don’t forget your bus pass.
  • Passes are only valid for the month indicated on the front.

Phone: 780-464-RIDE (7433)
Ask it, report it or suggest it using County Connect

Related pages

County Connect

Ask it, report it or suggest it using County Connect

Last updated: Tuesday, July 13, 2021
Page ID: 37501