Zero per cent property tax increase and penalty deferral

May 6, 2020

Zero per cent property tax increase and penalty deferral

In light of the impacts of COVID-19 on our community, Strathcona County Council approved proceeding with no municipal tax increase tax on 2020 property taxes, and a penalty deferral on late tax payment.

“While recently there has been good news regarding our province’s COVID-19 relaunch strategy, we know this pandemic has taken a toll on our economy,” says Mayor Rod Frank. “Reducing the municipal tax increase to zero, from 1.21 per cent, sends a strong signal that Council recognizes the tone of the times. Giving property owners longer to pay if they need will help to ease financial burdens for individuals, families and businesses in our community.”

Based on the zero per cent tax dollar increase for 2020, a sample single-family residential property assessed at approximately $419,000 would pay $1,827 in municipal taxes this year. Total property taxes for this sample property would decrease by approximately $57 (1.87 per cent). A sample commercial property assessed at approximately $1.9 million would see a 3.5 per cent decrease. Changes in a property’s annual assessment may affect the tax amount.

Mayor Frank adds, “In the coming weeks and months, Council will be looking to address the financial impact of COVID-19 on our municipality, and to support recovery and economic resilience efforts for our community.”

Strathcona County encourages payment of property taxes by June 30 to effectively support the continued delivery of programs and services. For taxpayers who need to delay all, or a portion of their 2020 tax payment, Council approved a three-month penalty deferral period. Late tax payment penalties will not be charged until after September 30, 2020.

The County’s tax penalty deferral meets with the provincial direction for deferred collection of non-residential education property tax for businesses.

Municipal property taxes make up 60.5 per cent of a residential property owner’s tax bill. Strathcona County also collects taxes on behalf of the Government of Alberta for education, representing 35.5 per cent of the residential property taxes. The Strathcona County Library and Heartland Housing Foundation make up four per cent.

Property tax notices and more information will be mailed to residential and non-residential property owners in late May.

Property owners can find out the estimated tax amount on their property through the County’s online Property Tax Calculator at This self-service tool provides the total amount, and annual and monthly property tax breakdown. It also shows how tax dollars are divided for the County’s delivery of municipal services.


Set in the centre of Alberta’s energy and agricultural heartland, Strathcona County is a thriving, successful and vibrant community of over 98,000 residents. Strathcona County is made up of the urban area of Sherwood Park and a large adjacent rural area of farms, acreages and smaller hamlets. It is home to 75 per cent of hydrocarbon processing in Western Canada. Strathcona County is a leader in environmental conservation, and 55 per cent of its land is within the UNESCO Beaver Hills Biosphere. With a focus on economic, governance, social, cultural and environmental sustainability, Strathcona County is committed to balancing the unique needs of its diverse community.


- 30 -

Contact: Strathcona County Communications, 780-410-6595