Awards of Excellence 2020 - Nominate by March 23

February 6, 2020

Awards of Excellence 2020 - Nominate by March 23

Improving quality of life for others, diversifying our economy and protecting our environment are just a few ways individuals and groups are making a positive impact in Strathcona County. In recognition of these outstanding contributions and achievements, citizens are invited to nominate an individual or group for the 2020 Strathcona County Awards of Excellence.

“Paying tribute to those who bring recognition to Strathcona County through their actions strengthens the diversity, culture, economy and quality of life for all Strathcona County citizens,” says Mayor Rod Frank. “The Awards of Excellence program is our opportunity to recognize these extraordinary people for their contributions and their positive impact on our community.”

The 2020 Strathcona County Awards of Excellence categories are: Agricultural Leadership; Arts, Culture and Heritage; Community Service; Economic Diversification; Heroism and Leadership; Outstanding Group; Service to Seniors; and Youth.

This year’s award ceremony will take place on June 15 at Festival Place.

More information about the Awards of Excellence and the online nomination form are available at, or by calling 780-410-6595. Nomination forms can also be picked up at County facilities.


Set in the centre of Alberta’s energy and agricultural heartland, Strathcona County is a thriving, successful and vibrant community of over 98,000 residents. Strathcona County is made up of the urban area of Sherwood Park and a large adjacent rural area of farms, acreages and smaller hamlets. It is home to 75 per cent of hydrocarbon processing in Western Canada. Strathcona County is a leader in environmental conservation, and 55 per cent of its land is within the UNESCO Beaver Hills Biosphere. With a focus on economic, governance, social, cultural and environmental sustainability, Strathcona County is committed to balancing the unique needs of its diverse community.


- 30 -

Contact: Strathcona County Communications, 780-410-6595