Face coverings required in indoor County facilities and transit, effective August 4, 2020.

July 28, 2020

Face coverings required in indoor County facilities and transit, effective August 4, 2020.

Face coverings required in indoor County facilities and transit, effective August 4, 2020.

As part of Strathcona County’s efforts to stop the spread of COVID-19, non-medical masks (face coverings) will be required for people entering all County -owned buildings and  transit, beginning August 4, 2020.

The County is taking this action, in step with its regional partners, to further reduce the risk of COVID-19 transmission and prevent a spike in infection rates. A unified regional approach is required to ensure public health measures are implemented effectively. This is especially important for preparing for a safe return to schools and supporting the local economy.

Everyone can help protect themselves and others from COVID-19 by practicing good hygiene, maintaining physical distancing, wearing a mask in public, getting tested and monitoring for symptoms. Learn more at alberta.ca/prevent-the-spread.

Mandatory non-medical mask use will give transit customers and County facility users greater confidence in accessing services in the safest way possible . As part of the Government of Alberta’s province-wide distribution plan, Masks for Albertans , non-medical masks are available to the public at the Bethel Transit Terminal during customer service hours , located at 650 Bethel Drive, Sherwood Park (while quantities last). Limited supplies of non-medical mask s will also be available at select County indoor recreation centres and the Community Centre. Visit strathcona.ca/masks or call 780-464- 8111 for more information.

Exceptions for non-medical mask use in County buildings/services include:

  • Children under two years of age Update: as of August 17, 2020, the exception applies to children under 10 years of age.

  • People with underlying medical conditions or disabilities that prevent them from safely wearing a face covering and those who cannot wear or remove one without assistance

  • People eating or drinking inside public spaces that offer food or beverages

  • People exercising or engaging in athletic activities

  • Caregivers or those accompanying someone with a disability 

Next steps  

Following today’s Emergency Advisory Committee update, t he Strathcona County Emergency Management Agency will draft a bylaw  for Council’s consideration that will require mandatory use of non-medical masks in all public indoor spaces and public vehicles for hire throughout Strathcona County ( eg : malls, grocery stores, retail businesses, places of worship) . This bylaw would not apply to areas that are not open for general public access (eg: schools, daycares). This recommendation  is expected to be presented to Council for consideration at a upcoming special Council meeting early August (date to be confirmed).

Ongoing safety -based approach  

The health and safety of the community, including County staff, remains the top priority as the COVID-19 situation continues to change. 

Strathcona County ha s implemented additional preventative measures to limit the spread of infection . Strathcona County meets, and in many cases exceeds, Alberta Health Service’s cleaning and disinfection protocols for COVID-19. For more information on the County’s cleaning protocols, visit strathcona.ca/cleaningprotocols 

Strathcona County’s Emergency Management Agency continues to action contingency planning and response to COVID-19. 

As this health crisis unfolds, information will continue to evolve and change. The information listed in this release, as well as updates, are posted to  strathcona.ca/covid19 .

Set in the centre of Alberta’s energy and agricultural heartland, Strathcona County is a thriving, successful and vibrant community of over 98,000 residents. Strathcona County is made up of the urban area of Sherwood Park and a large adjacent rural area of farms, acreages and smaller hamlets. It is home to 75 per cent of hydrocarbon processing in Western Canada. Strathcona County is a leader in environmental conservation, and 55 per cent of its land is within the UNESCO Beaver Hills Biosphere. With a focus on economic, governance, social, cultural and environmental sustainability, Strathcona County is committed to balancing the unique needs of its diverse community.

- 30 -

Contact: Strathcona County Communications, 780-410-6595