Strathcona County - A specialized municipality

Effective January 1, 1996, Strathcona County was granted status as a specialized municipality by the Province of Alberta.

What does this mean?
Strathcona County's classification as a specialized municipality provides for the unique needs of a municipality that includes both a large urban centre and a significant rural area and population.

The County includes the urban area of Sherwood Park and a large rural area with eight hamlets. As a result, the needs of residents in various parts of the community are quite different. The total area of the County is 1,265 square kilometres.

Our eight rural hamlets are: Antler Lake, Ardrossan, Collingwood Cove, Half Moon Lake, Hastings Lake, Josephburg, North Cooking Lake, and South Cooking Lake.

Hamlet map (327.9 KB)

Specialized municipality status means that the Province of Alberta recognizes Sherwood Park and the Urban Service Area immediately around as equivalent to a city for purposes of programs and grants. Rural Strathcona County, meanwhile, is recognized as equivalent to a municipal district for programs and grant purposes.

Order in Council 761/95 (280.5 KB)

This Order in Council changed the status of Strathcona County from a municipal district to a specialized municipality.

Services we provide that impact both urban and rural. (590.0 KB)

In Alberta there are three general types of municipalities, urban, rural and specialized. Learn about the types of municipalities in the Government of Alberta website. 

The Alberta Urban Municipalities Association (AUMA) provides an overview of municipal governments, their purpose, organization and structure. 

Related topics

Last updated: Thursday, October 28, 2021
Page ID: 39063