#### BYLAW 44-2021 Strathcona County and City of Fort Saskatchewan Intermunicipal Relations Committee

Section 145 of the *Municipal Government Act*, RSA 2000, c. M-26 ("Municipal Government Act") provides that Council may pass bylaws to establish council committees and define their functions;

Section 3 of the Municipal Government Act provides that the purposes of a municipality include to work collaboratively with neighbouring municipalities to plan, deliver and fund intermunicipal services; and

Strathcona County Council and the City of Fort Saskatchewan Council value communication between their respective municipalities and value having a mechanism to discuss matters of mutual interest;

Council enacts:

### PART I – PURPOSE, DEFINITIONS, AND INTERPRETATION

Purpose	1	The purpose of this bylaw is to:
		(a) Establish and prescribe the functions of a joint council committee named the Strathcona County and City of Fort Saskatchewan Intermunicipal Relations Committee; and
		(b)Prescribe the procedures to be followed by such joint council committee.
Definitions	2	In this bylaw:
		<ul> <li>(a) "Chief Administrative Officer" means the Chief Commissioner for Strathcona County or delegate and the City Manager for Fort Saskatchewan or delegate;</li> </ul>
		(b)"Committee" means the joint council committee named the Strathcona County and City of Fort Saskatchewan Intermunicipal Relations Committee established under this bylaw;
		(c) "Council" means the elected governing body of Strathcona County or the City of Fort Saskatchewan;
		(d)"Fort Saskatchewan" means the municipal corporation known as the City of Fort Saskatchewan;

		(e) "Host Municipality" means the municipality that is hosting the meeting of the Committee on a rotational basis;
		(f) "Mayor" means the chief elected official of Strathcona County or the City of Fort Saskatchewan; and
		(g) "Strathcona County" means the municipal corporation of Strathcona County, a specialized municipality established under the authority of the Municipal Government Act and Order in Council 761/95.
Interpretation	3	The following rules apply to interpretation of this bylaw:
		(a) headings, titles, and margin notes in this bylaw are for ease of reference only;
		(b)gender-specific words, phrases, and references are intended to be gender-neutral, and the singular includes the plural as the context requires;
		(c) every provision of this bylaw is independent of all other provisions and if any provision of this bylaw is declared invalid by a Court, all other provisions of this bylaw remain valid and enforceable; and
		(d) references to bylaws and enactments in this bylaw include amendments and replacement bylaws and enactments, and regulations and orders thereunder.
PART II – ESTA	BL	ISHMENT, MANDATE, AND TERMS OF REFERENCE
Establishment	4	Strathcona County and the City of Fort Saskatchewan jointly establish a council committee named the Strathcona County and City of Fort Saskatchewan Intermunicipal Relations Committee.

- Mandate 5 The mandate of the Committee is to enhance the relationship between the municipalities and ensure effective planning for, provision of, and communication on service delivery, and other municipal issues of common interest.
- Terms of6To fulfill its mandate, the Committee may:Reference() Development of the term of ter
  - (a) Develop and maintain a forum for the exchange of information about municipal issues of common interest;

- (b)Identify, explore and develop opportunities for enhancing the intermunicipal relationship; and
- (c) Make recommendations to Strathcona County Council and Fort Saskatchewan Council on programs, policies, and plans to deliver and fund intermunicipal services.

### PART III - MEMBERSHIP, TERMS, AND HOST MUNICIPALITY

Voting Members	7	The Committee includes the following voting-members:
		(a)Strathcona County Mayor;
		(b)Fort Saskatchewan Mayor;
		(c) Strathcona County Ward 5 Councillor;
		(d)One (1) Strathcona County Councillor as appointed by Strathcona County Council; and
		(e)Two (2) Fort Saskatchewan Councillors as appointed by Fort Saskatchewan Council.
Non-voting Members	8	The Committee includes the following non-voting members:
		(a) Strathcona County Chief Commissioner; and
		(b)Fort Saskatchewan City Manager.
Terms	9	The Strathcona Councillors who are members of the Committee will be appointed by Strathcona Council and will serve at the pleasure of that Council for two years.
	1(	The Fort Saskatchewan Councillors who are members of the Committee will be appointed by the Fort Saskatchewan Council annually at their annual organizational meeting; with a preference for the same members to serve at least two annual terms, at the pleasure of that Council.
	11	Strathcona County Council or Fort Saskatchewan Council may re-appoint a Councillor as a member of the Committee for consecutive terms.
Host municipality	12	2 Strathcona County and Fort Saskatchewan will share the responsibility to host Committee meetings on a rotational

basis.

## **PART IV - MEETINGS**

Meetings	13 The Committee will:
	(a)adopt a meeting schedule at the start of each year;
	(b)provide the annual meeting schedule to the Strathcona County Chief Commissioner and to the Fort Saskatchewan City Manager; and
	(c) post the annual meeting schedule on the Committee's webpage to provide notice to the public.
	14 The Committee may vote to change the date, time, or place of a scheduled Committee meeting, or to schedule an additional Committee meeting, if the Committee provides notice of the meeting in accordance with this bylaw.
Meeting in public	15 Committee meetings will be held in public unless the Committee meeting is closed for reasons permitted by the Municipal Government Act.
Agenda	16 The agenda for a Committee meeting will be established by the Host Municipality and distributed to the Committee members one week in advance of the meeting.
Quorum	17 Quorum consists of two voting members from each municipality and the Chief Administrative Officer from each municipality.
Procedures	18 Committee meetings will be conducted in accordance with this bylaw and Robert's Rules of Order. In the event of a conflict between this bylaw and Robert's Rules, this bylaw will apply.
Minutes	19 The Host Municipality will prepare and distribute minutes within 7 business days of the meeting.

# PART V - CHAIR

Chair 20 The Strathcona County Mayor and Fort Saskatchewan
--

Mayor will serve as chair of the Committee on a rotational basis.

- 21 If Fort Saskatchewan is the Host Municipality and the Mayor is absent, then one of the appointed Fort Saskatchewan Councillors will serve as chair.
- 22 If Strathcona County is the Host Municipality and the Mayor is absent, then the Ward 5 Councillor appointed to the Committee will serve as chair.
- 23 The chair will preside at the Committee meeting and decide all points of order.

### **PART VI – ADMINISTRATIVE SUPPORT**

Administrative 24 The Chief Administrative Officer of the Host Municipality will provide administrative support to the Committee, including:

- (a) Publishing the Committee's meeting schedules and notices;
- (b) Providing technical, administrative, meeting space, meeting management and other supports to the Committee as required for its meetings;
- (c) Managing the Committee's minutes and records;
- (d) Providing information or records to the Committee about matters within its mandate, subject to Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act and other confidentiality requirements; and
- (e)Facilitating the preparation of Committee reports to Council.

### PART VII – EFFECTIVE DATE

Effective date

25 This bylaw comes into effect on October 18, 2021.

FIRST READING: September 14, 2021

SECOND READING: September 14, 2021

THIRD READING: September 14, 2021

SIGNED THIS 29th day of September, 2021.

Rod Frank

MAYOR

Mavis Nathoo

DIRECTOR, LEGISLATIVE AND LEGAL SERVICES