Reminder: dog licence deadline is March 31

February 11, 2019

Reminder: dog licence deadline is March 31

Dog owners across Strathcona County are reminded to register/renew their dog licence by March 31, 2019. The Responsible Dog Ownership Bylaw (37-2017) focuses on owner responsibilities through incentives and enforcement. All dogs residing in Strathcona County are required to have a valid dog licence, renewable each year.

Existing dog licences may be renewed through online banking, by mail or in-person. Please note, first-time dog licences must be purchased in-person. Bring any supporting documentation for price reductions, if applicable. Payment locations and details or call 780-449-0170.

Strathcona County’s dog licensing system provides incentives to promote responsible dog ownership. For example, to assist officers in returning dogs to their homes, owners who microchip their dogs will receive a dog licence fee waiver for one year. In addition, owners who complete a recognized dog-training course will also be eligible for a fee waiver for one year. Owners who microchip and complete a dog training course will be eligible to have their dog licensing fees waived for two years.

Owners of licensed dogs will receive a renewal notice arriving by mail in late February to early March. Residents are reminded to notify Enforcement Services if they no longer have a dog that was previously licensed. Residents with a new dog must obtain a licence within 30 days of acquiring the dog (the first licence is free for the licence year). 

As a reminder, residents can own three dogs for properties up to five acres in size, and five dogs for properties over five acres in size before an over-limit permit is required.

Dog licences are valid from April 1 to March 31 each year. Dog licensing fees vary, but the most common yearly fees are $35 for spayed or neutered dogs, and $70 for non-spayed or non-neutered dogs.

For more information, including a full listing of dog licence fees and incentives or call 780-449-0170 to request a copy of the Responsible Dog Ownership Bylaw.

Set in the centre of Alberta’s energy and agricultural heartland, Strathcona County is a thriving, successful and vibrant community of over 98,000 residents. Strathcona County is made up of the urban area of Sherwood Park and a large adjacent rural area of farms, acreages and smaller hamlets. It is home to 75 per cent of refining in Western Canada. With a focus on economic, governance, social, cultural and environmental sustainability, Strathcona County is committed to balancing the unique needs of its diverse community.


- 30 -

Contact: Strathcona County Communications, 780-410-6595