Strathcona County part of regional transit conversation

October 15, 2018

Strathcona County part of regional transit conversation

On October 11, Strathcona County Mayor Rod Frank joined twelve regional mayors in signing a memorandum of understanding (MOU) that continues the exploration of a regional services commission to deliver inter-municipal transit.

“As the largest provider of commuter service in the Edmonton region, Strathcona County has been, and continues to be, interested in promoting public transit as a viable and accessible transportation option,” says Mayor Rod Frank. “A governance change in regional transportation is complex and involves many steps. Strathcona County is pleased to contribute to the broader regional transit conversation to explore transit opportunities that benefit our residents and the greater Edmonton region.”

The MOU outlines how the Edmonton Metropolitan Region partners will voluntarily work together to set up and operate inter-municipal routes. All current Strathcona County Transit services will remain in place during these discussions.

This phase of creating a transit commission is expected to conclude by the end of 2019, followed by developing and implementing a plan for regional commuter service from municipalities who decide to join the commission after 2020.

In the meantime, Strathcona County continues to collaborate with neighbouring municipalities to provide the high level of integrated regional transit, such as SmartFare and SmartBus, which support community needs.

More information about Strathcona County Transit or call 780-464-7433.

Set in the centre of Alberta’s energy and agricultural heartland, Strathcona County is a thriving, successful and vibrant community of over 98,000 residents. Strathcona County is made up of the urban area of Sherwood Park and a large adjacent rural area of farms, acreages and smaller hamlets. It is home to 75 per cent of refining in Western Canada. With a focus on economic, governance, social, cultural and environmental sustainability, Strathcona County is committed to balancing the unique needs of its diverse community.


- 30 -

Contact: Strathcona County Communications, 780-410-6595