Helping students get back to school safely

August 22, 2017

Helping students get back to school safely

As summer winds down, Strathcona County is gearing up to help support students returning to school on August 30, 2017.

Motorists are reminded to watch for excited students by obeying the school zone and playground zone speed limits of 30 km/h during set times. The school zone speed limit is 30 km/h, and is in effect between the following times on school days: 8 a.m. and 9:30 a.m., 11:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m., 3 p.m. and 4:30 p.m. The playground zone speed limit is 30 km/h. It is in effect starting at 8:30 a.m. and ending one hour after sunset. Peace officers will be throughout the community to help ensure everyone gets to and from school safely.

Under the priority of safety within the County’s Social Framework, Family and Community Services offers many resources. The Family School Liaison Program offers support navigating common challenges school-aged children face, including healthy relationships and bullying. Counselling services are available as well for adults and children. Many youth-geared community programs and clubs are available, including the Youth Council.

Transit is also gearing up for its fall service, which begins August 28, 2017. Additional customer service representatives are available to help riders plan their back to school travel. Locally, transit service is available for students attending Archbishop Jordan Catholic High School. Check with the school to obtain passes. Other students are also encouraged to take advantage of the local transit routes. 

Transit service into Edmonton provides direct routes to the University of Alberta NAIT, and MacEwan University’s downtown campus. Call 780-464-RIDE (7433) for schedule information, Monday to Friday from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., and Saturdays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Strathcona County Transit passes and tickets are available for purchase at Bethel Transit Terminal, Ordze Transit Centre (during specified hours), most 7-Eleven outlets in Sherwood Park, and Shoppers Drug Mart at 5-1020 Sherwood Drive.


Set in the centre of Alberta’s energy and agricultural heartland, Strathcona County is a thriving, successful and vibrant community of over 98,000 residents. Strathcona County is made up of the urban area of Sherwood Park and a large adjacent rural area of farms, acreages and smaller hamlets. It is home to 75 per cent of refining in Western Canada. With a focus on economic, governance, social, cultural and environmental sustainability, Strathcona County is committed to balancing the unique needs of its diverse community.


- 30 -


Strathcona County Communications, 780-410-6595