Apply to vote by Special Ballot

July 18, 2017

Apply to vote by Special Ballot


Monday, October 16, 2017 is Election Day for Alberta municipalities. Strathcona County is conducting elections for: Mayor and eight ward Councillors for Strathcona County, and Board Trustees for Elk Island Catholic Schools and Elk Island Public Schools.

Voters who are physically unable to go to a voting station, or who will be away from Strathcona County on Election Day, may vote by Special Ballot.

Request a Special Ballot package: 



Phone: 780-400-2017

Fax: 780-464-8194

Write: Strathcona County, Election Office, 2001 Sherwood Drive, Sherwood Park, AB T8A 3W7

Visit: 3rd Floor, North Wing, Strathcona County Community Centre, 401 Festival Lane

Election Office hours are: 8:30 a.m. to 12 noon and 1 p.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday to Friday.

Special ballot packages will be mailed after Nomination Day - September 18. Voters can request a Special Ballot up to and including October 16. All special ballots must be completed and returned to the Election Office no later than 8 p.m. on October 16, 2017.  

If you are unable to vote on Election Day, another option is to vote at one of the Advance Vote opportunities planned for October at a number of different locations. Advance voting increases access and convenience and makes it easier to get out and vote.  

Candidates or election workers may wish to vote by Special Ballot or in the Advance Vote. 

As the election approaches, more information for voters will be provided, including “where to vote cards” that will be mailed to households in October.

More information about Strathcona County Election 2017, or call 780-400-2017.


Set in the centre of Alberta’s energy and agricultural heartland, Strathcona County is a thriving, successful and vibrant community of over 98,000 residents. Strathcona County is made up of the urban area of Sherwood Park and a large adjacent rural area of farms, acreages and smaller hamlets. It is home to 75 per cent of refining in Western Canada. With a focus on economic, governance, social, cultural and environmental sustainability, Strathcona County is committed to balancing the unique needs of its diverse community.


- 30 -



Strathcona County Communications, 780-410-6595