Announcing 2017 Pride of Strathcona Awards recipients

May 15, 2017

Announcing 2017 Pride of Strathcona Awards recipients

The 2017 Pride of Strathcona Awards recipients have distinguished themselves and contributed to our community in many ways. Showing care and compassion for the vulnerable, building community and mentoring younger generations are some of the achievements that will be celebrated at the Pride of Strathcona Awards.

Strathcona County is pleased to announce the 2017 recipients:

Mayor’s Award

Edwin Riediger

Community Service

Wilson Bearhead
Sheila Smyth

Arts, Culture and Heritage

Bonnie Ferguson
Lilly Kleinke

Outstanding Group

Linking Generations
Strathcona County Victim Services Advocates             

“Through these awards, we share our pride and admiration for those who make a positive difference and for outstanding achievements that bring recognition to Strathcona County,” says Mayor Roxanne Carr. “Everyone is welcome to attend the Pride of Strathcona Awards as we pay tribute to individuals and groups whose contributions help make the County one of Canada’s most livable communities.”

The awards ceremony will be held on Monday, June 12 at Festival Place in Sherwood Park, starting at 7 p.m. There is no charge to attend this public event. A reception will follow the award presentations.

More information about the Pride of Strathcona Awards or call 780-400-2137.


Set in the centre of Alberta’s energy and agricultural heartland, Strathcona County is a thriving, successful and vibrant community of over 98,000 residents. Strathcona County is made up of the urban area of Sherwood Park and a large adjacent rural area of farms, acreages and smaller hamlets. It is home to 75 per cent of refining in Western Canada. With a focus on economic, governance, social, cultural and environmental sustainability, Strathcona County is committed to balancing the unique needs of its diverse community.


- 30 -


Strathcona County Communications, 780-400-2137