Election results declared official

October 20, 2017

Election results declared official

The results of the Strathcona County 2017 General Municipal Election have been declared official as of Friday, October 20 at 12 noon.

Congratulations to Mayor-Elect Rod Frank, and Councillors-Elect: Ward 1 – Robert Parks, Ward 2 – Dave Anderson, Ward 3 – Brian Botterill, Ward 4 – Bill Tonita, Ward 5 – Paul Smith, Ward 6 – Linton Delainey, Ward 7 – Glen Lawrence, Ward 8 – Katie Berghofer.

The new Strathcona County Council will be sworn-in on Tuesday, October 24, to serve the 2017-2021 term. The Swearing-In ceremony begins at 1:30 p.m., in Council Chambers, in the Community Centre. The ceremony will be followed by the inaugural Council Meeting at 2:30 p.m., and reception. The public is invited to attend.

Overall and poll-by-poll election results:  Available are the election night voting tabulation, an open dataset, and interactive dashboards and maps. Election results for Trustees for Elk Island Public Schools and Elk Island Catholic Schools are included.

Strathcona County thanks all voters, candidates and election workers.

Set in the centre of Alberta’s energy and agricultural heartland, Strathcona County is a thriving, successful and vibrant community of over 98,000 residents. Strathcona County is made up of the urban area of Sherwood Park and a large adjacent rural area of farms, acreages and smaller hamlets. It is home to 75 per cent of refining in Western Canada. With a focus on economic, governance, social, cultural and environmental sustainability, Strathcona County is committed to balancing the unique needs of its diverse community.


- 30 -

Contact: Strathcona County Communications, 780-410-6595