Ward boundary changes approved

September 13, 2016

Ward boundary changes approved

Strathcona County Council today approved a bylaw to change municipal ward boundaries, the areas from which Councillors are elected.

Changes to the ward boundaries are minor and will only impact residents living in Salisbury Village, which is currently part of Ward 6. Ward 6 is a rural ward, but Salisbury Village is located in the Urban Service Area (Sherwood Park).

With the passing of Bylaw 22-2016, the urban ward boundaries will be revised to align to the Urban Service Area boundary. Salisbury Village will become a part of Ward 3, an urban ward, effective for next year’s municipal election on October 16, 2017.

Proper boundaries provide for effective Council representation for all residents. The Ward Boundary Review Policy also sets criteria to ensure urban and rural interests are represented effectively.

Ward boundary maps - Effective for next year’s municipal election on October 16, 2017.

Set in the centre of Alberta’s energy and agricultural heartland, Strathcona County is a thriving, successful and vibrant community of almost 96,000 residents. StrathconaCounty is made up of the urban area of Sherwood Park and a large adjacent rural area of farms, acreages and smaller hamlets. It is home to 75 per cent of refining in Western Canada. With a focus on economic, governance, social, cultural and environmental sustainability, Strathcona County is committed to balancing the unique needs of its diverse community.


– 30 –


Strathcona County Communications, 780-410-6595