New committee of Council to focus on community life

September 16, 2015

New committee of Council to focus on community life

Strathcona County Council has established a new committee of Council to further its vision to become Canada’s most livable community.

The Community Living Advisory Committee will provide strategic policy advice and recommendations on matters relating to the County’s social and cultural pillars of sustainability as set out in Council’s Strategic Plan.

Nine public members will be represented on the committee, providing a mechanism for direct input and interaction between Council and citizens.

The committee’s focus is to identify community needs and issues, and advise on potential solutions to enhance community life. It will be a resource to ensure access to facilities and social and community programs and services—and foster and sustain a vibrant, healthy, creative and active community. 

“The Community Living Advisory Committee provides new opportunity for citizens to be involved in their local government,” says Mayor Roxanne Carr. “The diverse public and community representation on the committee will help build synergies and dialogue that strengthen social and cultural opportunities for all ages.”

The formation of the new committee stems from a comprehensive review that also sees a stronger emphasis on advisory committee mandates being aligned with the goals and priorities of Council’s Strategic Plan. Committee reporting structure and roles are also better defined under the revised Board and Committees Bylaw 
(Bylaw 46-2015).

“We encourage citizens to consider serving on one of the Strathcona County Boards and Committees,” adds Mayor Carr. “It’s an opportunity to share your experience and ideas, and make a difference on matters that affect our community.”    

Recruitment for the County’s 14 Boards and Committees is underway. More information and the application form are available at, or by calling 780-464-8136.

Set in the centre of Alberta’s energy and agricultural heartland, Strathcona County is a thriving, successful and vibrant community of more than 95,000 residents. Strathcona County is made up of the urban area of Sherwood Park and a large adjacent rural area of farms, acreages and smaller hamlets. It is home to 75 per cent of refining in Western Canada. With a focus on economic, governance, social, cultural and environmental sustainability, Strathcona County is committed to balancing the unique needs of its diverse community.


Contact: Strathcona County Communications, 780-410-6595