Voluntary water restriction in place

July 10, 2015

Voluntary water restriction in place

Effective immediately, Strathcona County is asking residents to reduce water consumption. Hot temperatures and the lack of rain have created increased demands on our regional water system.  

Municipalities in the Capital region work together to manage water resources in an efficient and effective way. Forecasts show that over the next several days municipalities’ reservoir levels will be below desirable levels. Municipalities, including Strathcona County, will work to ensure neighbouring communities and Strathcona County are able to keep up with demand. 

The voluntary water restriction is a precaution to keep water stored in our reservoirs at acceptable levels for critical activities such as fire fighting, drinking and cooking. 

Until further notice, residents are asked to reduce or postpone all non-essential water use including:

  • watering lawns, gardens and trees
  • washing cars
  • cleaning exterior of houses or driveways with water
  • filling hot tubs, pools or large aquariums

All water conservation measures will help decrease the demand on the County’s water system, including flushing only when necessary, taking short showers instead of baths, postponing laundry, and using as little water as possible on a daily basis. 

This past Thursday, July 9, Strathcona County discontinued the use of potable water for non-essential work such hydrant flushing, vehicle fleet washing and park watering, and most spray parks/decks (the exception is the RE/MAX Spray Park because it runs on a recirculating water system). 

If residents see someone using a lot of water, residents are encouraged to let the water user know about the water restriction, or if necessary, call 780-467-7785 to report violations. 

Updates on the water restriction will be available on a 24-hour recording, 780-417-2398, on the website and on Facebook (Facebook.com/strathcona.county) and Twitter (@StrathcoCounty). Residents are also encouraged to sign up for Strathcona County Alerts (SC Alerts) for notification on water bans and restrictions.

Set in the centre of Alberta’s energy and agricultural heartland, Strathcona County is a thriving, successful and vibrant community of more than 92,000 residents. Strathcona County is made up of the urban area of Sherwood Park and a large adjacent rural area of farms, acreages and smaller hamlets. It is home to 75 per cent of refining in Western Canada. With a focus on economic, governance, social, cultural and environmental sustainability, Strathcona County is committed to balancing the unique needs of its diverse community.

- 30 -

Strathcona County Communications, 780-410-6595