New committees of Council

January 30, 2014

Two new committees of Council have been established, the Priorities Committee and the Governance Advisory Committee.

The Priorities Committee is dedicated to monitor progress of Council’s Strategic Plan and provide a forum for evolving topics. The committee will help to ensure program and service delivery aligns to the County’s vision and give attention to priority setting. Priorities Committee meetings will also provide a regular forum for public engagement in local government, including public open houses, delegations, and presentations and updates from departments, business and community organizations, and individual citizens on matters important to them. 

 “Priorities Committee meetings will provide Council and Administration a more informal setting for in-depth discussion and collective strategic thinking in an open meeting,” says Mayor Roxanne Carr. “This new committee structure offers more focused time to receive department, project and community updates, and to hear from citizens.”

Generally, two Council meetings and one Priorities Committee meeting will be held each month. The first Priorities Committee Meeting is scheduled for February 11. Similar to Council Meetings, these meetings will be webcast.

The Governance Advisory Committee, comprised of three members of Council, will review governance policies and terms of reference, and oversee the selection of public members for Council-established committees.

More information on the new committees and meeting dates 

Set in the centre of Alberta’s energy and agricultural heartland, Strathcona County is a thriving, successful and vibrant community of more than 92,000 residents. Strathcona County is made up of the urban area of Sherwood Park and a large adjacent rural area of farms, acreages and smaller hamlets. It is home to 75 per cent of refining in Western Canada. With a focus on economic, governance, social, cultural and environmental sustainability, Strathcona County is committed to balancing the unique needs of its diverse community.

- 30 -

Roxanne Carr, Mayor, 780-464-8000