COVID-19 Recovery Governance Task Force

October 5, 2020 update

The Recovery Governance task force’s (RGTF) work plan was approved by Council in July 2020. The task force is currently exploring opportunities for a regional recovery conference with partner municipalities, focusing on shared learnings about COVID-19 recovery. In addition, the RGTF is examining options to advocate to all levels of government for continued support to municipalities and communities as recovery from the pandemic continues.

To successfully create and support Council’s vision and strategy for municipal recovery, the RGTF is utilizing a regional mindset by sharing and learning from regional partners, monitoring government organization ideas and outcomes, and providing advocacy recommendations to Council.

The task force will review any impacts COVID recovery has on the County’s strategic plan and provide recommendations to strengthen the County’s resiliency and future actions. The task force will also provide recommendations to Council on incorporating learnings from the pandemic into the County’s legislative framework.

The COVID-19 Recovery Governance Task Force is established by Bylaw 33-2020 (57.0 KB) .

The Task Force will support Council’s development of an overall vision and strategy for the municipality’s response, recovery and resilience both during and after the COVID-19 Pandemic, and will focus on regional cooperation and strategies for advocating to other orders of government for municipal supports to address recovery in the municipality’s short, medium, and long term future.


Members Status
Dave Anderson Regular Voting
Robert Parks Regular Voting
Paul Smith (Chair) Regular Voting
Rod Frank Ex-officio

Member terms commenced May 12, 2020 and continue throughout the term of the task force.

2020 Meetings

Date Time Agenda Minutes
Mon, June 1, 2020 9 am    
Wed, June 10, 2020 8:30 am Work Plan Session  
Mon, June 29, 2020 9 am    
Mon, July 27, 2020 9 am    
Mon, Sep 14, 2020 10 am    
Mon, Sep 28, 2020 9 am RG Task Force Agenda September 28, 2020 (38.5 KB)  
Mon, Oct 19, 2020 1 pm    
Mon, Nov 9, 2020 1 pm    
Mon, Dec 14, 2020 1 pm    
Mon, Jan 11, 2021 1 pm    
Mon, Feb 8, 2021 1 pm    
Mon, March 8, 2021 1 pm    

COVID-19 Recovery Governance Task Force Powerpoint Presentation (2.6 MB)

Workplan COVID-19 Recovery Governance Task Force (823.1 KB)

Contact information

Phone: 780-464-8140

Related topics

Last updated: Monday, October 05, 2020
Page ID: 50762