

Fire Chief Unit Citation Medal

On September 7, 2012, the following members were acknowledged for their involvement in the 2011 Slave Lake disaster:

- Deputy Chief Vern Elliott
- · Assistant Chiefs Mark Eckley and Dawn Hemming
- Division Chief Bruce Matheson
- Platoon Chiefs Norm Sutton and Todd Nixon
- Assistant Platoon Chiefs Barry Bouwsema, Terry Smith and Dean Melanson
- Captains Doug Deacon, Devin Capcara, Curtis Wheaton and Rod Kuhn
- Lieutenants Mike Nicholson, Todd Barrett, Neil Woods, Ryan McKinley, Gary Dick and Troy Alexander
- · Qualified Officer Roy Garcia
- Firefighters Chris Keen, Darren Hantelmann, Dave Hill, Chris Shabbits, Jason Ball, Lee Symon, Marc Pavan, Freddy Bickell, Iain Thomas, Steven Johnston, Luke Flowers, Matt Nixon and Scott Dafoe
- Bev Fowler and Michele Wilson

Strathcona County staff members Brian Wilson, David Churchill, Chris Hisey and John Fisher received recognition for their contributions as well as Fire Chief Robert Kosterman from Spruce Grove.