skip to main content

Pride of Strathcona Awards

Nominations are now closed.

Watch for the next call for nominations in late February 2017.

Pride of Strathcona Awards

Click above to scroll through image gallery.

Pride of Strathcona is an annual awards program to recognize Strathcona County citizens for outstanding achievements and contributions.

Strathcona County presented the 2016 Pride of Strathcona awards to the following groups and individuals at an awards ceremony held at Festival Place on May 27, 2016. Congratulations to all!

Bridgette Hardy-Crytes

Mayor's Award

Mayor's Award recipient Bridgette Hardy-Crytes

President of the RCMP Pipe Band, Bridgette Hardy-Crytes also offers time as a solo piper for a multitude of community events. The epitome of “tireless volunteer” - she serves others with a commitment to community and passion that inspires all ages.

Moyra McAllister

Community Service

In an effort to help her daughter, and the many other young people who suffer from an eating disorder, Moyra McAllister founded the Eating Disorder Support Network of Alberta (EDSNA), an organization which assists many of our residents.

Jordan Smith

Community Service

Moved by a desire to help the unfortunate people of Burundi, Jordan Smith longboarded over much of the Canadian West, then onward to Oregon, raising nearly $35,000 for the “Push for Burundi” cause.

Renee Lippa

Arts, Culture and Heritage

From an early age, Renee Lippa has distinguished herself in the arts through voice, dance and visual art. Now she and her partner are competing in ballroom dancing at an international level, winning many top awards.

Greg and DeeAnn Knott

Agricultural Leadership

Greg and DeeAnn Knott are a team whose volunteer efforts have gone a long way to ensure the UFA Country Classic is a premier stop on the summer cattle show circuit.

Rob Sproule

Agricultural Leadership

Rob Sproule is co-owner of Salisbury Greenhouse and community leader in the School Gardens Project, a program that enriches a child’s experience of gardening and nurtures a love for green growing.

Satish Pandya

Professional Achievement

A leader committed to health and fitness for 30 years, Satish Pandya grew his physiotherapy practice, while mentoring in many community endeavours, including giving inspiration and support to hundreds of individuals pursuing personal and professional development through Toastmasters.

Tim Wiwchar

Professional Achievement

Tim Wiwchar was the driving force behind Quest, an oilsands carbon capture process developed right here in Strathcona County. The initiative reduces upgrader emissions by 33 per cent annually, realizing “green” solutions in economic and environmental development and prosperity.

Teagan de Seguin


Thanks to Teagan de Seguin's many hours of volunteer work, young people can be more engaged in the world around them through self-definition, physical activity, participation and interaction.

Annalena Thiesen


A young individual with outstanding volunteer spirit, Annalena Thiesen gives her time visiting Alzheimer residents, planning local and global projects, and supporting anti-bullying.

Brian Jolly

Sports and Recreation Development

Brian Jolly, a former professional cyclist, shared his leadership and knowledge of the sport for the development of the Tour of Alberta. The event has attracted thousands of Albertans and was televised to an international audience of more than 47 million.

David Kozicki

Sports and Recreation Development

David Kozicki is a passionate supporter of hockey for young people, a natural role model who makes learning fun while focusing the young players on developing a lifelong love of the game.

David Elliott

Athletic Achievement

David Elliott is one of the best jiu jitsu athletes in the world, winning a long list of top medals from Las Vegas to Abu Dhabi. David is a team player who brings his international experiences into local classrooms.

Gwendolyn McGuire

Athletic Achievement

As part of the Canadian Junior synchronized swimming team, Gwendolyn McGuire brought back Gold at the 2015 UANA Pan American Synchronized Swimming Championships, and is training to represent Canada at the World Junior Championships. (Gwendolyn was unable to attend the award ceremony.)

Christina Sanders

Athletic Achievement

Christina Sanders and her dog Quasi are burning up the dog agility circuit. They have won the Canadian National Championships for the past three years, as well as brought home medals from top international competitions.

Sherwood Park Curling Club League Executive

Outstanding Group

Host club to the 2016 Grand Slam of Curling’s Champion Cup, this dedicated group also helped to steer the revitalization of the curling facility and increased membership.

Strathcona 4-H Rein Riders

Outstanding Group

The Strathcona 4-H Rein Riders are a group of young people who volunteer many hours of their time and talent to various organizations, making a positive difference in our community.

Back to top



Further information
Phone: 780-410-6595

Last updated: Thursday, December 01, 2016
Page ID: 37793